Association for Public Service Excellence
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linkedin
  • apse Blog
Who we are
What we do

Rising Stars!

APSE Scotland has announced the first ever winners in its new ‘Rising Stars’ awards to celebrate up and coming public sector managers.

 Announcing the award winners APSE Assistant Chief Executive Mark Bramah said 'The Rising Stars awards have shown that local government managers working in important front-line services are forward thinking, dynamic and innovative. These 'Rising Stars' show us public sector management can not only be challenging but a hugely rewarding career choice with the opportunity to make a difference to local public services'

The Waste Management category alongside the Parks category was kindly sponsored by Zero Waste Scotland and their spokesperson Charlie Devine, Head of Resource Management, said ‘In order to benefit from the opportunities of a zero waste society we need to support committed people working in the public sector to deliver a more sustainable local environment. I am delighted that Zero Waste Scotland has been able to support these awards: we applaud the contribution all the winners and finalists are making to better local environmental services’

The Transport category was kindly sponsored by Verve Van Centre and their spokesperson John Stanton said 'The transport and logistical operations of the public sector can often be hidden behind other more obvious frontline services, but without excellent transport operations many of our public services simply could not be delivered. Choosing transport as a management route in the public sector is not only rewarding but these Rising Stars are an essential part of the future delivery of public services.'

The Rising Stars finalists were:

Waste Management Category (Kindly Sponsored by Zero Waste Scotland)

  • Jeff Halkett, Dundee City Council
  • Lyall Rennie, East Renfrewshire Council
  • Ross Fenwick, Falkirk Council
  • Roddy Sneddon, Fife Council
  • Gerard Hannah, Renfrewshire Council
  • Fiona Munro, Scottish Borders Council
  • Maggie Cripps, Scottish Borders Council
  • Julie McPhee, Stirling Council
  • Roz Smith, Stirling Council
  • Frank Maguire, West Dunbartonshire Council

Winner: Fiona Munro, Scottish Borders Council



Transport Category (Kindly Sponsored by Verve Van Centre)

  • Gordon Bryce, Dumfries and Galloway Council
  • John McElhinney, East Renfrewshire Council
  • Graham Hodgkins, Fife Council
  • Andrew Foy, Renfrewshire Council
  • Alan Brown, Scottish Borders Council

Winner: Graham Hodgkins, Fife Council

Parks (Kindly Sponsored by Zero Waste Scotland)

  • Fraser Marshall, Dumfries and Galloway Council
  • David Crighton, Stirling Council
  • Donald Petrie, West Dunbartonshire Council

Winner: David Crighton, Stirling Council


APSE is the association for public service excellence a not for profit organisation supporting excellence in the delivery of frontline local authority services throughout the UK.

For more details or to arrange for interview please contact Mo Baines on mbaines@apse.org.uk

Promoting excellence in public services

APSE (Association for Public Service Excellence) is a not for profit unincorporated association working with over 300 councils throughout the UK. Promoting excellence in public services, APSE is the foremost specialist in local authority frontline services, hosting a network for frontline service providers in areas such as waste and refuse collection, parks and environmental services, cemeteries and crematorium, environmental health, leisure, school meals, cleaning, housing and building maintenance.




  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linkedin
  • apse Blog